“When I was a kid, if a mother came to church without a corsage from her children, the whole family went on everybody’s prayer list.” – ‘Our Sunday Best’ by Valerie Fraser Luesse, April 2010 Southern Living

I remember Mother’s Day Sundays growing up. Our tradition was a bit different. We children would wear a rose in honor of our mother. My brother and I would find a pretty, deep-pink rose bud on the backyard bush. Mama would pin it on with a straight pin. Or maybe a safety pin if we were so lucky to find one that morning.

Off we’d go to church, wearing a rose in honor of Mama. Inevitably, there was always an uncomfortable poke from the straight pin during the sermon. But isn’t that just like a mama? She would always give us a quick poke if we needed to straighten up. Either that or a sharp look. You know the one. Now that I’m a mama, I use it too.

My dear husband plants flowers for me each Mother’s Day. A tradition he started when I was a brand-new mother. My first Mother’s Day he planted a beautiful hydrangea. It flourished and by the next Mother’s Day was just as tall as our toddling girl.

Last Mother’s Day, my husband gave me two rose bushes. I’d been wanting some knock out roses. Every local shop touts their heartiness. Don’t do anything to them and they’ll grow.

And they have. Just two tiny pots last year. Plentiful rain has helped them quadruple in size in just a year. But isn’t that just like mama? A child just blossoms under the showers of her love. Mama’s love blesses anything and helps it grow quadruple.

This year we’ll begin again that Mother’s Day habit. From that bush in our yard I’ll pin a rose bud on each child. Each will wear a rose in honor of their mama.

Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you. Exodus 20:11-13

The habit of planting, growing and honoring.

Happy Mother’s Day.

-Tricia homeschools five children from preschool to middle school. She’s forsaken life in the drive thru lane for the road home. She’s saving bucks and her sanity with the frugal recipes and sock it away strategies of her Southern roots. You can find her facing that daily dose of chaos at Hodgepodge. Tricia is a.k.a. Hodgepodgemom.