Tags

,

Today we welcome April Baldwin, precious friend and fellow homeschool mother of four. In these last months, she and her family have traveled a difficult road. We are daily blessed by her faith and are privileged to have her share her story with us…Do you know how great and majestic is the God of the Universe?!  He created the heavens and the earth from nothing ~ absolutely nothing!  He hung the moon and the stars.  He created you and me.  He loved us so much that He sent His one and only Son to die for us!  He even forgives our sins as far as the east is from the west.  That is an amazing God!  A God we should passionately pursue and shout of His greatness to all!

Each of our lives sings a song that expresses our beliefs and values ~ the things we hold most dear to our hearts.  What song does your life sing?  Is it a song of praise, worship and adoration?  What happens to that song in the midst of life’s difficulties?  When you lose someone you love…walk through financial difficulties…lose a job…face a terminal illness.  What would your life sing if you found out your two-year-old child had cancer…a very rare cancer?  That is exactly a decision I had to face three months ago.

In August, our family learned that our then two-year-old daughter had a rare form of kidney cancer that affects only 20 people in the US each year.  After the initial shock, there was that moment.  In the midst of the pain, I knew I had to choose.  I could walk this path that God had set before me, shaking my fist with anger and bitterness, or I could choose to run; to cling to Him ~ the All Mighty, Merciful God ~ my El Shaddai.  I knew the God I had trusted and loved so dearly would still be the same God in the midst of this horrible path our family had been thrown onto.  So, in that hospital room, through the tears, I chose Him…to praise Him, to sing the same song my life had been singing when things were good.  I knew nothing, absolutely nothing, had changed about my Lord and Savior.  He had ALWAYS been with me…He promised to never leave me…always by my side (Deuteronomy 31:8).

Now, as the weeks pass, I continue to cling to Him ~ trusting ~ believing ~ holding onto His very words.  They are my only hope.  I need Him!!  Each breath.  Each step.  Each moment.  I pray that He will bring beauty out of the ashes ~ that He will use my daughter’s life to bring glory and honor to Himself ~ that He will touch and transform lives through her life ~ even if it’s just one.  I don’t understand His ways or His thoughts or His purposes, but I trust His plan.  Honestly, right now, I pray that my song of His goodness and grace is sung louder than any other time in my life!

Are you walking through a difficult time in your life?  Are you angry, bitter, or resentful?  OR, are you pressing into the Throne Room singing your song of His grace, mercy and love?  What does your life sing?  What is your song?

I will sing to the Lord as long as I live.  I will praise my God to my last breath!  Psalm 104:33


You can read Millie’s story and more at Millie’s Miracle, where April continues to sing her song.