Tags

, ,

Sometimes I find that performing a common, household task helps me to think. The past couple of years I’ve gotten into the habit of cleaning off the top of my fridge around the 1st of January. I can see the cleared surface and the shine. It’s a visual. A clean start for the new year…

Read more of this post, A Clean Slate, here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Above is the introduction of a new year habit I shared over on Passionate Purposeful Parenting. A habit that is available always – year ’round. Wrapped up in this ‘new’ habit is the new resource that site brings. Passionate Purposeful Parenting (PPP) is packed full of wonderful advice, practical resources and gentle helps.

I immediately clued in to the Prayer Calendar. This is a free pdf available for download. I printed it and posted it right above our family calendar. Right where I will see it every day. As I’m checking on that orthodontist appointment, I pray a specific prayer for my children. It’s an easy, visual prompt. Waste no time in clicking over and downloading it to follow along each month of this new year.

The prayer on the square for the 1st of the month?

“Lord I pray that my children would obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus, with eternal glory.” 2 Timothy 2:10

Also on PPP is a resource section. This page is full of links to encouraging websites. I noticed the link to Doorposts since we use most of their products. But I’d never before run across the free pdf download, Making Relationships with Your Children a Priority. Click over to download this and view other resources.

Once a week at PPP, an author shares words to “encourage and equip parents.” Archived posts go back to August 2008 on all topics of parenting. Website owner, Melanie Robbins, shares her reasons in creating the site…

I am passionate about parenting
“enthusiastic, ardent in feeling or desire, heartfelt, excited, fervent”
I seek to be purposeful in parenting
“intentional, having a purpose or goal in mind, resolute, deliberate”

Our own Kim Ashbaugh, contributing author here on Habits for a Happy Home, knows Melanie and also writes for PPP. She steps in to give us a bit of history…

After struggling with the ups and downs of raising young children, my friend Melanie Robbins, in California, had a burden for parents.  A few years ago, she started the blog “Passionate Purposeful Parenting.” The theme of the blog is just as it sounds…providing articles and resources to help young couples parent with a purpose.

I encourage you to click over and spend some time on what I consider a sister site 🙂

  • Download the prayer calendar.
  • Subscribe in your reader.
  • Make a habit of reading the posts and drawing from the resources.

Be encouraged to be a passionate and purposeful parent this year. My new year’s habit, A Clean Slate. Plus the many resources available at Passionate Purposeful Parenting.

See I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland. Isaiah 43:19

-Tricia homeschools five children from preschool to middle school, mixing up a classical and Charlotte Mason style. You can find her facing that daily dose of chaos at Hodgepodge. She contributes a mixture of writing for The Curriculum Choice, $5 Dinners, Passionate Purposeful Parenting and is a.k.a. Hodgepodgemom.

How about you? Do you have a parenting resource you are passionate about? Please share in the comments.