Tags

,

It’s that time of year again – time to make your final choices for curriculum and to begin your next year of homeschooling your children. At times like these, it’s easy to feel like you’re making a mistake. Like you’re not qualified to teach your children. Like you’d rather send them to school and just do homework with them in the evenings because you’re afraid you’re going to mess them up. Maybe you feel like you just want some “ME” time and that’s why school outside of your home sounds appealing.

This week, I decided to tackle the task of cleaning out the fourteen years worth of school work that I have collected in numerous boxes in my basement. When I opened the first box, I could not imagine parting with a single piece of paper. How could I fancy letting go of the masterpieces created by my children? How could I dare throw away those workbooks containing hours and hours of their work, their precious invested time just cast away?

Then it hit me – I finished! How did that happen? How did I get to the end when it seems like just yesterday I was teaching my children how to read and write? How did we get past every day math and through Algebra, Geometry, and Trig? We made it through Biology and World Literature. Where did the time go?

Then another thing hit me – I really did it! With the Lord’s help, I made it. How did that happen when every September I doubted whether or not I was qualified to do it and whether or not I should go to work and “contribute” to the family. My, my! The time really did fly!

And as hard as it is to let go of the boxes of work, I realized that I’m really not letting go of anything because those hours and hours of investment were invested in RELATIONSHIP. The times will never be forgotten. And they were SO worth every minute of it!

So I wanted to take just a little of your time and encourage you to keep on keeping on. You can do it! I have a few suggestions to help make this time of year – and all the years ahead — easier for you. Here’s three things that will ease your mind:

1. Fear Not
Isaiah 41:10 says: “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

When the relatives and friends start to put doubts in your mind – simply because they cannot fathom taking on such a task – remember Psalm 3:6. It says: “I will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side.”

Jeremiah 39:17 says: “But I will rescue you on that day, declares the LORD; you will not be given into the hands of those you fear.”

When you feel like the County or the State that you live in is out to get you and you fear that your freedom to school your children will be taken away from you, remember 1 Peter 3:14. It says: “But even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. Do not fear their threats; do not be frightened.”

2. Trust in the Lord
Genesis 22:11-13 says: “But the angel of the LORD called out to him from heaven, “Abraham! Abraham!”
“Here I am,” he replied.
“Do not lay a hand on the boy,” he said. “Do not do anything to him. Now I know that you fear God, because you have not withheld from me your son, your only son.”
Abraham looked up and there in a thicket he saw a ram caught by its horns. He went over and took the ram and sacrificed it as a burnt offering instead of his son.

This scripture reminds us to place our children on the altar of sacrifice before the Lord – their lives, their educations, their futures – and trust that He will take care of things.

When you don’t know where to turn when your school year starts to go down the tubes or maybe your school books are just not working for your child, remember Proverbs 3:5-6. This wonderful scripture says: “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”

3. Rejoice in the Lord
Philippians 4:4 is a great reminder to “Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice.”

You can rest assured that at the end of your homeschooling experience, if you have given everything over to the Lord every day and every time you struggle, you will have something over which to rejoice.
Sherri Johnson is a homeschool mom (14 years) who is a published author and speaker and who loves to share God with others and to make people laugh. She enjoys speaking to homeschool groups about organization, record keeping, homeschooling high school, keeping kids pure, and more. She has been married for 22 years and has a 20 year old daughter and a 16 year old son. She is a writer who writes homeschool resources and Bible Studies but loves writing Christian Romance more than anything. She has a contract on her first novel, which will be out soon. www.sherrijohnsonministries.com
http://sherrijinga.wordpress.com/