Today’s post is all about SCIENCE!! My boys LOVE Science experiments, they would do them everyday if I let them!! I thought that there might be other kids who also enjoy Science, especially Science experiments so I just wanted to share with you links to some of my past post that include Science resources and experiments we’ve performed. I also included a list of (what looks like) Great New Science links I have come across!!

Past Science experiment Post:

Another Fun Science Experiment

Bases and Acids Experiment

Science Anyone

Science Lesson: The State of Matter we call LIQUID

Science Experiment on First Day of School

Science Lesson Resources

Any Science Book by Jeannie Fulbright. See them all HERE

Natural History Science: Weekly Nature Challenges

MIND BLOWING SCIENCE Kit
Kid’s Science Experiments Site
How Stuff Works: Science Experiments for Kids
Chem4Kids 

For younger (PS & K) kids:Sid the Science Kid

I just found these and they look great but I haven’t checked out the sites completely:

Science Kids

Science News for kids

Science for Curious Kids

Science @ Yahoo Kids http://kids.yahoo.com/science

Science with Me

Zoom Science @ PBS http://pbskids.org/zoom/activities/sci/

Science Made Simple

Science: Solids & Liquids/ Atoms & Molecules

We are using this book called Reader’s Digest “How Science Works”
for science experiments. My MIL found it at a yard sale for just about nothing and she gave it to me. (Thanks my dear MOM IN LAW =o) I just started using it but I can tell it’s going to be great!! I will of course be able to use it in a more in-depth way as the boys get older!! So it’s like a double blessing.

We talked about Solid’s and Liquid’s, the ex. we used….. rock is a solid matter and water is a Liquid matter
Here you see a “visual aide” idea I had, I think it worked. The boys (especially my oldest) seemed to understand what I was saying =o) 1st pic: These cotton balls are our atoms and molecules and they are spread out here as they would be in a liquid matter 2nd pic: Our atoms and molecules (cotton balls) are tightly packed together as they would be in a solid matter.

Here was the experiement from the above mentioned book: Here we used butter (solid) and heated it up until it changed into a liquid. When that happened I reminded the boys that the atoms and molecules were packed tightly together in the stick of butter and when the butter melted the atoms and molecules spread out. After we put the melted butter in the fridge and it solidified we saw how the solid butter took up a little less room in the cup than when the butter had been in a liquid form.
**************************************
The boys really love doing experiments. I am going to have to make sure I do them more often!!
Here are the questions and answers from our Science lesson today.
What is a Solid and Liquid? A “state of matter” What is an Atom? the basic building blocks of ordinary matter…….–Definition from Jesfferson Lab What is a Molecule? two or more atoms joined together. Definition also from Jefferson Lab How do Atoms and Molecules work in a Solid? In a solid the atoms and molecules pack tightly together (for more info. see Chem4kids ) How do they work in a Liquid? Atoms and molecules in liquids are bouncing and floating around, as they do this they spread out, just as a liquid spreads out to fill whatever container it’s in. For more infor. see Chem4Kids